Friday, March 30, 2012

Nominations Announced for 2011 FCCA Awards

Nominations were announced yesterday for the annual Film Critic Circle of Australia (FCCA) Awards for Australian Film, for the films of 2011. The Awards, supported by major sponsor FOXTEL, will be presented on Tuesday April 10 at a ceremony at the Australian Film Television and Radio School (AFTRS) theatre. This information comes courtesy of the FCCA.

Films in contention for Best Film are Burning Man, The Eye of the Storm, The Hunter, Oranges and Sunshine and Snowtown. Jonathan Teplitzky's Burning Man topped the nominations count with nominations in ten of the eleven categories. Daniel Nettheim's The Hunter and Justin Kurzel's Snowtown received eight nominations, while Fred Schepisi's The Eye of the Storm received seven.

FCCA President Rod Quinn said “The nominations this year reflect the huge diversity in Australian filmmaking – from the sophisticated adaptation of an intricate Patrick White novel to the hugely successful story of a lovable dog; from a complex thriller with a big Hollywood star to the extraordinary true story of murder in the suburbs with a primarily unknown cast. This was a banner year for Australian film and we at the Film Critics Circle of Australia are proud to celebrate that."

The Film Critics Circle of Australia is the national body of professional film critics in Australia whose aims are to promote excellent and integrity in the art of film criticism and support the advancement of Australian and international film culture. The FCCA is a cultural, non-profit organisation and a member of FIPRESCI - the international body of critics and journalists. The FCCA recognises outstanding achievement in Australian film through the FCCA annual awards. Australian films eligible for the FCCA awards are those which have had a theatrical or public screening between January and December 2011.

Full List of Nominees (after the jump):

Best Film

Burning Man
The Eye of the Storm
The Hunter
Oranges and Sunshine

Best Director

Justin Kurzel (Snowtown)
Daniel Nettheim (The Hunter)
Fred Schepisi (The Eye of the Storm)
Kriv Stenders (Red Dog)
Jonathan Teplitzky (Burning Man)

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Emily Browning (Sleeping Beauty)
Judy Davis (The Eye of the Storm)
Bojana Novakovic (Burning Man)
Emily Watson (Oranges and Sunshine)

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Matthew Goode (Burning Man)
Daniel Henshall (Snowtown)
Geoffrey Rush (The Eye of the Storm)
David Wenham (Oranges and Sunshine)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Essie Davis (Burning Man)
Louise Harris (Snowtown)
Frances O'Connor (The Hunter)
Alexandra Schepisi (The Eye of the Storm)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

John Gaden (The Eye of the Storm)
Sam Neill (The Hunter)
Hugo Weaving (Oranges and Sunshine)

Best Performance by a Young Actor

Daniel Connors (Toomelah)
Morgana Davies (The Hunter)
Jack Heanly (Burning Man)
Finn Woodlock (The Hunter)

Best Script

Shaun Grant (Snowtown)
Judy Morris (The Eye of the Storm)
Jonathan Teplitzky (Burning Man)

Best Cinematography

Adam Arkapaw (Snowtown)
Robert Humphreys (The Hunter)
Garry Phillips (Burning Man)

Best Music Score

Lisa Gerrard (Burning Man)
Jed Kurzel (Snowtown)
Matteo Zingales, Michael Lita, Andrew Lancaster (The Hunter)
Cezary Skubiszewski (Red Dog)

Best Editor

Jill Bilcock (Red Dog)
Martin Connor (Burning Man)
Veronika Jenet (Snowtown)

The FCCA Awards for Australian Film will be held in the evening of Tuesday, April 10.

No comments:

Post a Comment